Concerning Marriage

April 1, 2010 at 12:35 pm (Uncategorized)

It should be noted that Russians, especially women, are very preoccupied with love and marriage.  When I first told my host mother that I have a boyfriend in America, she said something to the tune of, “Oh wonderful, you’re on the right track.”  She demanded to see pictures, and when I showed her one of him, she said, “He’s tall.  He’ll make a good husband.”  I tried to explain to her that twenty-year-olds in America don’t think about things like that, and she looked at me like I was off my rocker.  There are many superstitions in Russia about marriage as well.  If you break certain rules, it means that you won’t be married for another ten years, which is catastrophic here.  When Iya’s sister came over for the first time, she told me, “You’re very beautiful.  You’ll find a good husband.”  Young women, as well as the old are like this as well.  We spoke to sixteen-year-old girls about the matter, and they were horrified that women in America get married as late as thirty.  I told them that my aunt was only just getting married for the first time at the age of forty-four, and their eyes got really wide, as they said, “What did she do wrong?”  It is yet another reason why Russian culture is so different from American culture.

Leave a Reply

